top of page
A company makes a product for which the following information is given.
-selling price: $100 per unit
-direct materials: $ 40 per unit
-direct labour: $ 30 per unit
Total fixed costs are $40 000. Planned production is 1000 units.
Which action should the company take to breakeven?
A decrease direct labour cost by 30%
B decrease direct material cost by 25%
C increase direct labour cost by 30%
D increase direct materials cost by 25%
Decrease in Direct material by 25% increases contribution by $10, new contribution would be,
($100 = $30 - $30) =$40.
Total contribution would become (1000 units x $40) = $40,000
Break even is when total contribution equals total fixed costs.
bottom of page